Photography Out Of The Blue

Rain On Me *~*

Leave a comment

 

I love the rain.

I love the smell of damp earth, the sound of thunder rolling down our canyon and the sight of lightning flashing across a dark sky.

There are some people who don’t like rain.

I can see why when I ponder on it. Rain is not “comfortable” {especially in northern NM,} it is cold, creates a really big mess {especially if you have dogs} and if you’re from the south west/west then it usually comes with a good dose of horizontal hail just to top it off. Oh! and did I mention that it brings dark, foreboding clouds and it interrupts your schedule like little else will {especially if you live in a place with lots of arroyos}?

So I see why there are days when I find one my favorite things a burden. On a day when I have a picnic with friends planned, or a day at the zoo with the nieces and nephews or just a day when I feel like playing in the sunshine. On days such as these rain is considered to be inconvenient antbest and anger inducing at worst.

 

I was thinking today how it’s the same in our relationship with God.

Rain is considered a blessing throughout Scripture

Acts 14:17

Nevertheless he left not himself without witness, in that he did good, and gave us rain from heaven, and fruitful seasons, filling our hearts with food and gladness.

 

Deuteronomy 28:12

The LORD shall open unto thee his good treasure, the heaven to give the rain unto thy land in his season, and to bless all the work of thine hand: and thou shalt lend unto many nations, and thou shalt not borrow.

But it’s more than just physical rain,  God uses “rain” to teach us and refine us into the Christians He would have us be!

Deuteronomy 32:2

My doctrine shall drop as the rain, my speech shall distil as the dew, as the small rain upon the tender herb, and as the showers upon the grass:

Romans 5:2b~5

 … and we exult in hope of the glory of God. 3 And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; 4 and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; 5 and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

 

I liken “tribulation” to “rain” in my mind because we treat them the same.

Rain brings about the good end for which it was designed, it is a blessing that many don’t accept and appreciate as God’s good and perfect gift for, not only us, but those around us as well.

Tribulation brings about the good end in our lives for which it is designed and very few of us {myself included most of the time} accept and appreciate the refining that takes place in our lives that could never happen other wise.

Crops won’t grow with out rain.

Fruits of the Spirit won’t grow with out tribulation.

Blessings,

Katelynn

Author: photography out of the blue

I'm just a girl new to the world of photography trying to learn all I can! I like to work, build, create, cook, laugh, draw and am famous for having to many projects going all at one time! I'm still trying to figure out where I fit and what God wants from me...other than being me.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

